West Adelaide Thunder

National Wheelchair Team

The West Adelaide Basketball Club has joined forces with the Adelaide Thunder in 2019 to form the 'West Adelaide Thunder' - South Australia's team in Australia's National Wheelchair Basketball League. 

This partnership will add another element to the West Adelaide Basketball Club's long and storied basketball history in SA.

The Bearcats have hosted the Thunder's home games at our Port Adelaide Stadium since the Thunder re-entered the National League in 2017. The name change reflects the next  step in our partnership, which will further deepen over time as we integrate our operations. 

You can find out more about the Thunder on their current Facebook page - see https://www.facebook.com/TheAdelaideThunder/

- and learn more about the National Wheelchair Basketball League on the NWBL website or Facebook page.

The 2019 NWBL season will tip-off in May.

We have home games at Port Adelaide on the following dates:

  • Saturday 29 June @ 4.15pm

  • Sunday 30 June @ 12.15pm

  • Saturday 6 July @ 4.15pm

  • Sunday 7 July @ 12.15pm

You can also read the story from the Portside Messenger below.